Curriculum Development Award

February 9th, 2016 by

Curriculum Development Awards

Analytic Theology for Theological Formation

 Fuller Theological Seminary’s School of Theology, in cooperation with the John Templeton foundation, is providing funding for the development and implementation of courses, or course segments, in analytic theology at divinity schools and departments of theology and religious studies. The project expects to award up to five applicants with grants of between $5,000-$18,000 each, depending on the nature of the course envisaged. See below for information on how to apply. Applications are due July 1, 2016.


Overview of Course Program

The curriculum development awards are intended to stimulate the creation and implementation of courses, or course segments, in analytic theology at divinity schools and departments of theology and religious studies. The program will provide five awards to faculty members who would like to develop and teach a course of one of the following two types:

  1. Revised Required Courses – A required graduate survey course that does not currently contain a segment on analytic theology, and which the applicant would like to revise so that it does. Course awards of up to $5,000 are available for courses where analytic theology forms a component part of the course (e.g. where a fifth of the revised course contains new material on, or directly related to, analytic theology).
  2. New Courses in Analytic Theology – A course dedicated to analytic theology. To qualify, such courses must, if selected, be taught for credit within major degree programs at the institution. Courses must qualify for credit towards a graduate degree in theology or religion and be a full semester, trimester, or quarter in duration. In addition, applicants must provide evidence from the overseeing administrator ensuring that the course can be taught at least once during the life of the grant (ending August 31, 2018) and a second time during the four-year span after the course award is made. Course awards of up to $18,000 are available for such courses to support teaching replacement ($12,000) and implementation costs ($6,000).



Applicants for either type of award should submit a detailed syllabus for the course being considered for an award, a short (single page) covering letter that provides a rationale for the award, and CVs for the personnel teaching the proposed course. Submissions must be sent to Allison Wiltshire at [email protected]. For those seeking Revised Required Course awards, copies of the original syllabus for the course (i.e., the course as taught without the Analytic Theology component) must be submitted as well. The syllabus (or syllabi, in the case of Revised Required Course) should be submitted electronically by the due date.



These curriculum development awards are open to all regular faculty at accredited institutions of higher education, e.g. universities, colleges, and seminaries. Preference will be given for applicants who can demonstrate that their courses include substantial new elements, or where the entire course is new material previously not taught at the institution in question.



Five syllabi will be selected for awards, and evaluators will offer feedback on each winning syllabus, giving advice on readings, course structure, etc. Award winning faculty will be asked to provide a revised syllabus based on feedback before the financial award is made. Awards will consist of between $5,000-$18,000 each. Syllabi from winning courses will be made available as online exemplars of courses in analytic theology, or where analytic theology is a major component.

E-mail [email protected] with any questions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.